Review: Rohto Lycee Contact eye drops

First of all, happy new year everyone! I hope you’ve all had a fantastic start to the year so far. I just came back from my trip to Japan and I had a blast. I hauled a whole bunch of beauty goodies too (check them out on my Instagram here) and I’m excited to start reviewing everything I got. Let’s start on the first one then, shall we?

So like a lot of people, I wasn’t born with perfect 20/20 vision. I, of course, wear glasses, but I prefer wearing my contact lenses when I’m going out. Only trouble is that my eyes are easily prone to dryness with them on, so I constantly have to have eye drops with me wherever I go. They only provide temporary relief as my eyes still dry up a lot throughout the day, but I’ll take that over no relief at all. With dry eyes comes tired eyes, so I really needed something that wouldn’t only re-moisten my lenses and eyes, but make them feel more refreshed and ‘awake’ again. So I decided to pick up this Rohto Lycee Contact eye drops while I was in Tokyo. I had heard about the ordinary eye drops for non-contact lens wearers and how effective they were at really cooling and refreshing the eyes, so I figured this would be great for someone like me!

lyceecontact_01

I’m loving the super, pink girly packaging right off the bat. As you may have already figured, these eye drops are specifically for when you’re wearing your contact lenses. Featured on the box is Sasaki Nozomi, a really popular Japanese model.

Product info:
Rohto Lycee eye drops is the solution for contact lens users that need to get moisture back in their eyes and suppress discomfort that might arise after prolonged wear of hard or soft contact lenses. Rohto Lycee Contact contains a keratinous treatment add HEC component that treats dry eyes, and has an easy to use free angle nozzle.

Directions:
Use 1 to 2 drops; 5 to 6 times per day

Active Ingredients:
Sodium Chondroitin Sulfate 0.5%
Potassium Chloride 0.08%
Sodium Chloride 0.44%
Sodium Bicarbonate 0.05%
Hydroxyethylcellulose 0.02%

lyceecontact_02

The actual bottle, which holds 8ml of solution, is just as girly as the outer packaging – all pink with a sparkly pink cap to top it off too. The plastic body is just flexible enough to make it easy to squeeze without over dispensing the solution like I almost always seem to do with other bottles. I manage to get exactly one drop with this each time.

lyceecontact_03

A unique feature of the bottle is its ‘free angle nozzle’ which can dispense the solution from any angle, even when it’s on its side like this. I’m still sticking to the traditional dip-your-head-back method though.

Prior to trying these drops, I had heard about how the solution really makes your eyes feel minty cool and they honest to goodness do! It’s still always a pleasant surprise to me whenever I use this. Some people have complained about the feeling being ‘weird’ or they simply didn’t like it, but I do because it instantly makes my eyes feel refreshed again as if I had just popped in my contacts for the first time that day. My contacts are completely moistened again too, of course. I read that this product actually has the lowest level (1) of cooling effect compared to some of the other Rohto eye drops and that the highest is 7! I think the most I’ll be able to handle is 2 or 3, to be honest! However, the cooling effect is also supposed to have an added advantage for people who sometimes suffer from bloodshot eyes  as the ‘coldness’ restricts the blood vessels in your eyes to make them clearer and brighter.

Unfortunately, the overall effects of the drops only last about half an hour to an hour for me before my eyes feel dry and tired again. Can’t blame the product for it though because it’s the same case for all my eyedrops once I’ve worn my contacts for a few hours. My eyes are just naturally prone to dryness, even more so with my contacts on. But the instant cooling effect of the solution is kind of what wins me over makes me like this product the most and I’m already planning to buy a couple more once I start running low on my current one!

WHAT I LIKE:
– Cute packaging
– Re-moistens hard or soft contact lenses
– Gives your eyes an instant cool, minty feeling which refreshes and wakes them up

WHAT I DON’T LIKE:
– Might be a little pricey for some in relation to the amount of product you get
– Because of the small amount of product you get, I might run out of this quite fast as I use it nearly everyday and multiple times within a day

Price: ¥735‎.00

65 thoughts on “Review: Rohto Lycee Contact eye drops

  1. I love my level 7 drops. Can’t live without them! As usual, a shame that these wonderful treats to our eyes aren’t available in our respective countries.

    Popping over to your Instagram account now because I love a good peek at hauls hahaha

    • Wow, I’m trying to imagine how intense the level 7 ones are! I feel like testing it out for myself though! Maybe if I can find one online. And yes, if they had Lycee drops here I’d hoard up on them easily.

      Oh, I just saw your likes on my photos, haha! Thanks! x

    • I have no doubt they’d raise the price even more if it were here. In a way it’s probably a good thing that it’s not available locally, haha. I guess I’ll stick with just re-purchasing it online!

    • Yeah, I can understand why anyone with sensitive eyes won’t like this product too much, or any of the other drops with a cooling effect. Even I had to get used to it the first time I tried it.

  2. The packaging is really cute and girly. Reminds me of those travel sized perfumes. This is something I wouldn’t get because of it’s price and the lasting power. But for its cuteness, I might get it. Haha!

    • To be honest it’s still hard for me to judge whether something in Japan is considered affordable or expensive. Over here these eye drops would definitely be pricey, especially because of how little you get with it.

      And too bad we didn’t run into each other! Haha :)

  3. This looks so cute!!! love the packaging…still, I do not use contact.. an Im super sensible to eye drops… would be crying in a second :)
    giglove!

    novelstyleblog.com

    • Eye drops like this, especially with the cooling effect, are definitely not for sensitive eyes. I hope they can come out with one that’s just as cute but with a more gentle formula! Haha

  4. We’re using the same eye drops :D I love this but it’s true, doesn’t last long. I first saw it at Michelle phan. I love the case too but this is expensive compared to other eye drops in drugstores no?

    • Yes, definitely on the more expensive side compared to regular eyedrops, whether for people who wear contacts or not. But my old eye drops weren’t that cheap either, even if came with a little more product, so I’ll happily repurchase this when I can!

  5. I want to see your haul but there’s no link to your IG. XD This is definitely considered cheap, I guess. In PH, this would cost to around 500-600 lol Let’s move to Japan/Korea so we can get our beloved cosmetics at a much affordable price. Haha

    • Oops! Somehow the link disappeared in my post. I fixed it now though! Or you can just go here: http://instagram.com/p/issf_ax5Ng/

      I have no doubt they’d raise the price here by at least a couple of hundred pesos if it was sold locally. If only I could move to Japan or Korea too, but I know I’d be constantly broke if I did! Haha!

    • I was considering making a post about my trip, but unfortunately I didn’t take a lot of pictures. Not with my camera anyways. Most of my updates and pics from the trip are on my Instagram though if you want to check them out: @arianyupangco :)

    • I’m not sure how easy it would be to re-fill it with another product because I haven’t tried pulling the nozzle out yet or anything, but it’s certainly worth a try. It would be nice to be able to re-use such a cute bottle!

    • I’ve stopped wearing circle lenses for now because they dry out my eyes too much compared to regular contact lenses. I think I’ll start wearing them again once I find eye drops that keep my eyes refreshed and moistened for longer!

  6. Pingback: What’s In My Makeup Kit? Part II. | Ari's In Wonderland

Leave a Comment

